Port in!


I finally got approved, and had my port put in last Friday. I was so nervous, but they gave me meds that kept me awake, but that I wouldn’t feel anything. Honestly, I don’t remember any of the procedure at all. I think I fell asleep!

Things still look the same in the picture above. I haven’t been able to see what it looks like. It’s still covered until tomorrow. I’m going in to have a port check done, and hopefully get these bandages off for good. It still kind of hurts, depending on how I move, and it’s itchy, which means it’s healing, so the bandages should come off. I’m hoping the port will be working good during the port check. I really don’t want to go in and have this done again.

My next infusions are the week of January 30th. This will be the first time I’ll be using the port. I’m hoping my insurance is going to have the authorization for the year in by then. The doctor’s office called yesterday and told me that the insurance keeps denying my IVIG again. So stupid, since they have proof that it’s working. I’m so over these insurance issues! At least the person in my doctor’s office is really pushing to get it approved. I dont want to have to get involved like I did last time.

So, that’s it for now. Will post a new blog post after my port check tomorrow.

Leave a comment