Round 14 Day 2!

Accessed the port today, but no blood return. The nurse and I weighed our options, got counsel from her company, my doctor, and interventional radiology at the hospital.

According to her company, and the counsel of 2 other nurses, including her boss, it was okay to go ahead and do the infusion.

My nurse called interventional radiology at the hospital, who said that if I came in the first thing they would do would be give me TPA, to help in case of a blockage or clot. They suggested we call my doctor and get an order for that, which my nurse could give me.

Next, my nurse called my doctor. That was several different calls, but we finally got answers. Long story short, the doctor said go ahead and run the infusion, he ordered the TPA for the nurse to try tomorrow, and they’re getting me a referral for interventional radiology to see me Friday, if the TPA doesn’t work.

By the time we finished all those calls back and forth, it was already 10:30 am. My nurse had been at my house since 8am. We’re supposed to start my infusions early, because it takes 7-8 hours to infuse. We finally got done at 5:30pm.

I feel like crap right now. I’m just trying to rest, but I’m so worried about the port. I’m hoping it’s just some fibrin sheath covering the port, and the TPA will dissolve it. I don’t really want to go to the hospital.

They’re supposed to deliver the TPA tonight, so we can try it tomorrow. They said it should be at my house by 9pm. That’s late huh? I think they’re driving it from Santa Fe Springs so I can have it tomorrow. Usually they ship my meds via UPS.

I hope everyone else is doing well. Have a good night. Pray for better luck for me tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

