Doctor update

Back on December 14th, I saw my primary care doctor, because my blood pressure has been high, even though I’m on two different blood pressure meds. He also did some lab work to check my hormone levels, as I’ve been having some menopause symptoms. I called the office yesterday to see what was going on, because I hadn’t heard from them in two weeks. I guess with the holidays, they were off certain days.

Anyway, my doctor has changed one of my blood pressure meds to Lotrel. Anyone take this? Did it work? Any side effects? I’m always nervous changing blood pressure meds, because I’ve had bad side effects with some of them. I’ve had high blood pressure since I was 25 years old, so I’ve been on a lot of different ones. I’m 48 now.

Also, my doctor tells me I’m starting menopause, that’s why I’ve been having symptoms. I had a hysterectomy many years ago, but kept one ovary, because my rheumy at the time said that going on hormones with lupus would be bad for me. My obgyn agreed. I think I have my left ovary. My primary care doctor I have now agrees that I shouldn’t take any hormones, so I’m just going to deal with the symptoms. So far they aren’t too bad.

Will update again after I’ve been on the new blood pressure for a few weeks. Will also keep updating on my menopause journey.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

