It finally happened! The insurance has finally realized they’ve been a pain in the ass, and my Rituxan has been approved. I’m so glad this fight is finally over. As far as I know, everything is covered, except a $50 copay of the medication. That will be covered by a copay assistance card by the manufacturer of Rituxan.

I set up my first appointment for next Thursday, July 16, 2015. This is an all day process, as Rituxan takes at least 6 hours to infuse, plus I’ll be having pre-medication, so I’m looking at approximately 8 hours in the infusion chair. I’ve had this mediation before, but I only had 2 doses of it, because Benlysta had gotten approved by the FDA, and my doctor really wanted me on Benlysta. This was about 4 years ago.

I’m really hoping that Rituxan works for me. I really need to feel better! It has been way too long since I’ve had any kind of a good quality of life. I’ve been sick most of my adult life, and I’m 47 years old now. That’s way too long to feel like shit!

Will update more as soon as my infusion takes place.

Leave a Reply

